Central Elementary School
61 Woodside Road
Riverside, IL 60546
(708) 447-1106

Village of Riverside eliminates Crossing Guards for next school year.

Posted Apr 26, 2010 | Category: Community

This information was originally posted on April 26, 2010. Please note that the article refers to events from a previous school year.

Village of Riverside Eliminates Crossing Guards

The PTA/ PTO’s of District 96 would like you to be aware the Village of Riverside has not funded crossing guards in next year’s Village budget.  District 96 has sought legal counsel regarding the implications of reimbursing the Village for the cost of the guards.

For information regarding the elimination of the crossing guards, please read the landmark article: Who will foot the bill for the crossing guards?

If you have an opinion about this issue, we would encourage you to speak with or e-mail our District 96 and Village elected officials.

The e-mail address for the District 96 elected officials is the following:  Boardofed@district96.org.

The members who share the above e-mail address are as follows:
President, Nancy Jenson
Giles McCarthy
Jennifer Leimberer
Mary Ellen Meindl
James Schraidt
Mary Stimming
Hareena Wakely

The next District 96 Board of Education meeting is Tuesday, May 18th at 7:30 P.M. at Hauser Jr. High School.  The agenda has allocated time for public comment.  The issue was tabled at the April meeting for discussion and action at the May meeting.

The Village Trustees may be contacted at the following e-mail address:

President, Mike Gorman, at mgorman@riverside.il.us

James D. Reynolds, jreynolds@riverside.il.us
Lonnie R. Sacchi, lsacchi@riverside.il.us
John E. Scully, jscully@riverside.il.us
Benjamin Sells,bsells@riverside.il.us
Mark D. Shevitz, mdshevitz@riverside.il.us
Jean Sussman, jsussman@riverside.il.us

The next Village meetings are scheduled for May 3rd and May 17th at the Village Hall.  As of this publication, the May schedule and agenda were not on the Village web site.

To speak at a Village meeting, please follow the directions on the Village web site:  Village of Riverside

Thanks for your attention in this matter.  Your voiced opinion can make a difference!

The District 96 PTA/ PTO Presidents

Ames:  Jen Kaiser, Stephanie Schulte
Blythe:  Lisa Gaynor
Central:  Allyn Pilewski
Hauser: Fran Sitkiewicz, Lisa Aulerich-Marciniak
Hollywood: Kierith Kurth, Denise Notz